DC Comics unveils lineup and artwork for Tom Taylor’s SUICIDE SQUAD

Suicide Squad (DC Comics)

Earlier this week DC Comics unveiled a new project being masterminded by DCeased‘s Tom Taylor.

The writer, alongside artist Bruno Redondo, is bringing Suicide Squad back to monthly comics are a short hiatus. At the time DC unveiled the news we didn’t have a look at any artwork for the series, but now we’ve got our first look at the newest incarnation of Task Force X.

Cover by Ivan Reis and Joe Prado

Above is the cover artwork for the series’ first issue and is by Ivan Reis and Joe Prado. This latest version of the team will act without the leadership of its usual leader Amanda Waller. Fan-favorite characters Harley Quinn and Deadshot will remain on the roster alongside new characters Thylacine and Wink.

Taylor has also name dropped more obscure villains — including King Shark, Magpie and Zebra-Man — as being part of the team at launch.

“For a long time, there’s been a sense of safety around the Suicide Squad. The anti-heroes and villains have gone out on the mission, fought dirty, won dirty and most of them have come home,” Taylor told The Hollywood Reporter. “In our book, that’s not the case any more. The team we send out in issue one won’t all live through the first mission. DC characters with years of history are going to be confined to history after issue one. Truly, no one is safe.”

The 40-page, $4.99 debut issue of Suicide Squad is scheduled to release December 18, 2019, written by Tom Taylor with art by Bruno Redondo, cover by Ivan Reis and Joe Prado, and variant cover by Francesco Mattina.

Follow us on Facebook, on Twitter @GetYourComicOn, or on Instagram at GetYourComicOn. If you have a story suggestion email feedback@getyourcomicon.co.uk.

About Neil Vagg 3957 Articles
Neil is the GYCO Editorial Chief. He has a BA in Film & Tv and an MA in Scriptwriting; he currently works 9-5 as an office manager and 5-9 as a reviewer/web designer. He has been subscribing to comics for around nine years but has been reading them as long as he can remember. Favourite comics: Batman; Nightwing, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and All New X-Men Favourite films: Batman (any apart from & Robin); Star Trek Generations, Underworld, Beetlejuice Favourite TV shows: Fringe; Buffy, Arrow, TBBT, Being Human UK and Star Trek TNG