Connect with us

Comics News

Chip Zdarsky & Jacob Phillips Team Up On Brand New Series NEWBURN From Image Comics

Comic book legends Chip Zdarsky and Jacob Phillips are teaming up on a brand new series, NEWBURN, set in underworld of New York City.

Published

on

Newburn #1 (Image Comics)

Bestselling, multiple Eisner Award winning writer Chip Zdarsky (Daredevil) is in cahoots with fan-favorite artist Jacob Phillips (That Texas Blood) for an all new, ongoing crime comic titled, Newburn from Image Comics. This hardboiled new series will launch from in November.

In Newburn, readers meet Easton Newburn, a private detective without loyalties investigating conflicts between rival crime factions while collecting enemies along the way. In this debut issue, a man is murdered after stealing from his own mafia family, but they aren’t the ones who ordered the hit…

“I love the satisfaction that comes from crime procedurals, so the chance to do that in comic form, while crafting a massive story about a fictional New York underworld, was something I couldn’t wait to do,” said Zdarsky in an exclusive on the announcement at Comic Book Resources. “And Jacob is the perfect artist for the book! His work is gritty and full of heart and he’s bringing it all to this book.”

Newburn is the perfect crime series for fans of Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips’ Criminaland classic Raymond Chandler books. The series is perhaps best described as Sherlockmeets The Wire.

Phillips added: “Newburn brings something fresh to crime comics that I’ve not seen before. Chip’s at the top of his game crafting these tight done-in-one stories which have been great fun to draw and even more fun to read. I can’t wait for people to see what we’ve been cooking up!”

The debut issue will also include a riveting backup story called, “Brooklyn Zirconia,” by rising stars Nadia Shammas and Ziyed Yusuf Ayoub and feature a cover B by critically acclaimed artist Tula Lotay.

Newburn #1 will be available at comic book shops on Wednesday, November 3


Follow us on Facebook, on Twitter @GetYourComicOn, or on Instagram at GetYourComicOn. If you have a story suggestion email feedback@getyourcomicon.co.uk.

Continue Reading
Advertisement
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Advertisement

Sign up to our newsletter

Become a Patron

Advertisement

Trending

GetYourComicOn.co.uk is a property of Get Your Comic On Ltd. © 2021 All Rights Reserved. Images used on this website are registered trademarks of their respective companies/owners.